Homeschooling

This post, The Case Against Homsechooling, popped up on my hot posts list and was immensely popular over the weekend with over 300 comments.  The gist is the author’s top 10 reasons why homeschooling is a bad idea.

I will let you read over them yourselves but I want to comment on what I see as the author’s general idea:  she believes homeschooling is not as good for the kid as public schooling.  Homeschooling results in “geeky”, socially incapable kids who are not up on culture.  Another reason homeschooling is misguided is it breeds intolerance and religious or intellectual arrogance.

Geeky may be the perfect was to describe homeschooled children.  I would know.  I love to work with and on computers and I love to read.  Geekiness personified right there.  What is wrong with that ?  I graduated High School 13th in my class and hold a GPA at a private university just below 3.5 while working 20 hours a week and taking a full load of classes.  That is a capable student in any book.

As for being social, I have a couple hundred Facebook friends and I use to be very active in an online gaming community.  😀  Fun aside the stereotypical homeschool kid Miss Scaccia speaks of does exist.  There are several at my university and everyone knows who they are.  They are a little weird.  They love Star Wars and Zombies, Star Trek and the Lord of the Rings, but the difference between myself and them has so little to do with educational background and everything to do with what they enjoy.  They have plenty of friends.  Sure they might be weird in one way or another to myself or you but at Union University they have a group of about 10-20 of them.  Are they not socially adept?  I want to add that many, but not all, were homeschooled.  I know several through my major.

To speak to you honestly if you want to find someone who is truly passionate about something they love look no further than a Trekkie or someone who plays with swords for fun on the weekends.  When you truly love to do something very little gets in your way and the “geeks” and “nerds” do it best.  Not everyone is the same nor is the public school education system built best for everyone.  Some need that extra attention and one-on-one time, regardless if it is a teacher or a parent doing the educating.  Each child is different and what gets lost in the homeschool debate is whether or not what is happening is best for that child.  If you want to succeed in life find what you are passionate about and do it!  Or as the Most Interesting Man in the World says, find out what you don’t do well and don’t do it!  I think the homeschooled child has a greater ability to find out what those things are.

One Response to Homeschooling

  1. Mimi says:

    I took him up on his offer to meet a Real Live Homeschooling Family.

    Of course, he didn’t really mean it.

    http://teacherrevised.blogspot.com/2009/06/teacher-revised-is-coward.html

Leave a Reply

